Coateering in the 2020 camp in Wainui

The salty water rushed down my throat as I jumped into the cold and wavy water. I felt seaweed all slimy and soft against my skin. It swam through the holes in my pink Kathmandu shoes. We had walked over thousands and thousands of barnacles to reach, Baby, Mama and Papa bear rocks. As I hit the water my wetsuit filled with seawater making it hard to swim out. I kicked and kicked but got stuck in the washing machine. The washing machine is just a small whirlpool.

I finally got out, then stood next to Tahli while the morning breeze froze my ears. Jumping off barnacle-covered rocks was an exciting and favourite camp activity. Every now and then everyone said, “Are you all good?” Markus was my partner so he said ” Yep!”.

Pulling myself up the steep hill was hard because everything was wet, allowing me no grip. I got to the top but had very little breath and everyone was hot but they still wanted to do it again.

2 thoughts on “Coateering in the 2020 camp in Wainui”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *